Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


timeIt’s been a month since I came back here in Manila. Time really flies! But time lost meant memories gained with family and friends and precious lessons learned along the way. There are moments I miss the province, too – the simple way of living, when one does not have too much options, when one can be relaxed strolling around the city away from the hustle and bustle of the concrete jungle. But at the same time, I have to move forward. All of us have to move forward. I’m just grateful for my short stay in the city of gentle people and I hope I can go back there eventually.

For now, I like to share with you my thoughts on time. Maybe you noticed I’ve written about this topic in previous posts. Hehe. I’m just so engrossed about this subject – maybe because I’m not getting any younger? hehe. Kidding aside, don’t you realize how blessed all of us are because God gave us time equally? Rich or poor, young or old, male or female, all of us are provided with the same 24 hours. Time is indeed one good equalizer.

At lunch earlier, my officemates (which includes my dad – don’t ask why he’s included. hehe) and I discussed about the evolution of the accounting profession – on how years ago, accountants would use hardcopy worksheets to manually record transactions and typewriters in preparing documents. Furthermore, they shared on how long it took to know the results of the CPA board exams. During my dad’s time, an aspiring CPA would have to wait for about a year to determine whether he or she passed the exams while during the time of another officemate, six months was the waiting period. They even mentioned the evolution of the liquid eraser to now correction tape! hehe. Now, accounting and auditing is made easier and more effective and efficient with the technological advancement – from hardcopy worksheets to Excel worksheets, from typewriters to computers/laptops/smartphones, from one year to one day waiting time for the board exam results.

Thinking about our conversation, I realize how blessed they are – advance in years that they were able to witness the many changes that happened in the country, in the world, and even in their personal lives – some favorable, some unfavorable.  The passage of time can bring wisdom. But it can also bring regret. Time can be a friend or a foe depending on how we manage this gift the Lord has entrusted us. That’s why, we ought to ask Him for guidance on how to invest on and manage our time wisely.

“Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.”-Eph 5:15-17  

Few days from now, I will be celebrating my birthday. For me, it marks the end of one chapter in my life and a beautiful beginning of the next. While there are moments I want to be rich financially, I learned that I am already wealthy not only because of my relationships with the Lord, family and friends, but also with time. God gave me time here on earth to love Him and serve Him wholeheartedly. He blessed me with time to grow more in Christlikeness. But a day will come when I will no longer be bound by time because  I get to be with the Giver of time – to worship Him for all eternity. 🙂

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”-John 3:16

As I type this, seconds would have passed which turn to minutes, and minutes turning to hours, and hours turning to days, and days turning to weeks, and weeks turning to months and months turning to years. One day, this blog post will be at the bottom  part of the page. Or perhaps, it cannot be read anymore in this platform  with the unpredictability of technology. But I hope during that time, God willing I’m still here, I will have managed my limited time well. I hope one day, when I meet God, He will tell me, “Well done, my good and faithful daughter.”

 

 

