Tags

, , , , ,


It’s been three years! Whoa! Time flies! πŸ˜€

It’s time to look back and be grateful to what God has done three years ago, when He added those desired three letters to my last name (I wonder when He’ll allow another three letters to be added before my first name! haha Kidding :P), when a friend from SGV called and told me I passed, when we braved the sea of reviewees at CPAR just to see our names on the list of CPA boardpassers. But in the midst of joy, there’s sorrow as some of our friends were not able to make it. But as of this writing, we have a 100% passing rate! πŸ™‚ God has the perfect timing for everything. πŸ™‚

Now you’re asking, what happened during those three years? For me, it seems nothing’s changed. I still work for the same company with the same rank. When I think of my friends who happen to be my batchmates, I cannot help but compare myself to them at times. The “they’re already SAs/this/that and I’m still an A mentality” would run through my head. And when it happens, I really get all the more frustrated. I would ask myself, “What happened Mel? Where’s the disciplined and diligent achiever during the undergrad? Why still an associate?”

But as I assessed myself and as I looked to God for answers, He revealed to me how selfish I am. I wanted the promotion but only for the prestige attached to it. I did not want the additional responsibilities that come with it. Yes, I failed. I did not deserve to be promoted because I did not give my best. But I thank God for all the lessons He’s taught me. It wasn’t easy though as there were times I’d feel condemned. But I thank God for constantly reminding me that there’s no condemnation in Christ and His grace is powerful enough to sustain me and to transform me to become the person He wants me to be.

I still don’t know where I’m headed. But one thing’s for sure: His Word stands forever. πŸ™‚

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”-Jeremiah 29:11

College friends and fellow CPAs who've always been with me throughout this journey. I miss you all! :)

College friends and fellow CPAs who’ve always been with me throughout this journey. I miss you all! πŸ™‚

