Tags

, , , , ,


God moves in mysterious ways.

These past weeks have been terribly crazy. It really has been a roller coaster ride at work. Pending tasks would seem to haunt me like an unwanted visitor. They would seem to tell me-surprise surprise! I’m still here, just so you know. If only I have a magic wand, I’d make all my pending tasks disappear. But I’m not living in a fairy tale world and I’m no magician, though I’m still a princess, a daughter of the King (we’re of royal lineage, FYI. Hihi.).

Anyway, I encountered a dilemma about two weeks ago. I received an email from our manager stating that I’d be part of a tax compliance (TC) engagement. The client was located in Batangas, which meant having to stay there for a particular period of time, as stated in the timetable also included in the email. It was a good deal since it’s a rare opportunity to conduct TC’s outside Metro Manila and stay-in pa (meron din namang out-of-town engagements but usually balikan lang). Plus, I get to work with one of my seniors na matagal-tagal ko nang di nakakawork and two of the staffs na nakatrabaho ko na and masasabi kong outstanding talaga when it comes to work and marami akong natutunan sa kanila.

I was thrilled when I read the email and excited to do the engagement because matagal-tagal na rin akong hindi nagkaka-TC. The past busy season, halos audit-related work ang nagawa ko and knowing that I’d be part of a TC again was a breath of fresh air (new learnings, plus maaapply ko natutunan ko the past busy seasons). However, there was a problem. The schedule of one of the fieldworks coincided sa schedule ng pag-uwi ko sa amin sa June. When I saw this, my heart sank. Ooopssss… okay na sana, pero bakit ganito? Questions came rushing in my mind. Action plans were thought of. Then one day, I decided to tell my senior about the conflict of schedule. She told me that she’d talk with our manager. After small talks and emails, my manager asked me to choose – proceed in doing the TC and reschedule my flight back home or back out.

Upon reading her email, I thought: Lord, bakit ngayon pa? Hindi ba pwedeng ibigay mo pareho? As I was weighing my options, I thought it would be too risky to back out, because it was the round-table season. I thought: What if di ako mapromote dahil lang dito? I also thought of still proceeding with the engagement but I’d miss the second scheduled fieldwork, though it was risky on the part of the team since mabilisan daw yung engagement. After consultations, wrestling and wresting in my mind, I told my senior that I would not be postponing my leave.

I’m glad God presented me with two good choices and He granted me the freedom to choose. Pero amazing si Lord for He was teaching me to let go. He was teaching me to trust in Him. I can hear him say, ‘Nak, Akong bahala. Tiwala lang.’ And I thank Him for the wisdom in leading me to choose the better option and that is to back out. I also thank God for the people who’ve been there to pray for and with me and sa advices na binigay nila, some of which came from people I never expected.

And so when I was told that I wasn’t going to be part of the engagement anymore, the peace of God just remained in me. Nag-exchange kami ng isa kong kacluster. And amazing, because stay-in pa rin pala yung engagement na kung saan kabilang nako ngayon (though it was never part of the plan before). Last minute na lang nagchange na magsstay in na kami ng kasama ko sa Laguna. Then hindi lang kami sa hotel nagstay kundi sa isang magandang bahay pa! When I heard of this, in my mind I said: Wow Lord! Ang galling mo! Your ways are indeed greater and better than ours.

Everyday, God presents us with choices. I’ve recently read that “to say yes to the right things, you have to say no to a lot of things. Saying no doesn’t make you a bad person. It just tells people that you have other priorities.”

And boy, I’m just glad God led me to choose the house (going home) over the hotel. J

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.-Proverbs 3:5-7

Indeed, my plans are not like your plans and my deeds are not like your deeds for just as the sky is higher than the earth, so my deeds are superior to your deeds and my plans superior to your plans.-Isaiah 55:8-9

Where we stayed. Isn't it lovely? :)

Where we stayed. Isn’t it lovely? 🙂

