Tags

, , , , , ,


“It’s always painful to lose, but sometimes you have to lose so you can count your blessings.”

 

This is the status set by a friend of mine in our office’s internal chat system. I’ve probably read this lots of times but it took time to fully grasp the meaning behind the sentence.

There would be times when we’ll lose something or someone- be it that hard-earned money or that beloved family member or friend. And when we lose, we end up getting hurt.

I’d remember the time my cellphone and wallet got snatched. It was the first time that something was stolen from me. I was really hurt and frustrated when that happened because I know that I won’t be able to take those back again (the fact that those were already stolen).

But through that loss, I was able to gain one precious lesson. God instilled in me that those material, temporal things really don’t matter for they can still be replaced. When those things were taken from me, I was able to appreciate what I have. The mere fact that I’m still alive is something to be grateful for! God has indeed blessed me with a lot that at times, I would forget to appreciate even the simplest things because of familiarity. I was too familiar with things that everything just seemed ordinary.  I did not welcome those everyday blessings with a thankful heart.

I’m sharing with you the lyrics of a song a friend emailed several months back. Whatever we’re going through right now, may we trust God that He’s in control. Perhaps, those problems are God’s way of calling you to come back to Him or maybe, it’s His way of molding you to be more like Him. Either way, “we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal”(II Corinthians 4:16-18).

May you be blessed with this song, too. 🙂

Blessings

By Laura Story

We pray for blessings

We pray for peace

Comfort for family, protection while we sleep

We pray for healing, for prosperity

We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering

All the while, You hear each spoken need

Yet love is way too much to give us lesser things

Chorus:

Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops

What if Your healing comes through tears

What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near

And what if trials of this life

Are Your mercies in disguise

We pray for wisdom

Your voice to hear

We cry in anger when we cannot feel you near

We doubt your goodness, we doubt your love

As if every promise from Your Word is not enough

All the while, You hear each desperate plea

That long that we’d have faith to believe

(Repeat Chorus)

When friends betray us, when darkness seems to win we know

The pain reminds this heart, that this is not, this is not our home

It’s not our home

 

Chorus:

Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops

What if your healing comes through tears

What if the thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know you’re near

What if trials of this life

Are your mercies in disguise

What if my greatest disappointments or the aching of this life

Is a revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy

And what if trials of this life

The rain, the storms, the hardest nights

Are Your mercies in disguise

