Tags

, , , ,


“But He gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says: “God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble.”

-James 4:6

P-R-I-D-E. A deadly word. One that causes divisions, creates misunderstandings, and burns bridges.

Pride. It separates us from God and other people. It deceives us into thinking that we’re okay, that we’re correct. It calluses our hearts to the point of thinking so highly of ourselves. It gets us nowhere that being trapped into that pit of darkness.

Pride breeds complacency and complacency breeds callousness. When we reach that point, we hardly hear from God. When we’re proud, we’re blocking the grace of God to flow into our lives. It’s like saying to God, “I know what to do with my life. I don’t need You.”

Many times in my life, I would try to save my pride. We would always hear that lousy excuse, “My pride is all I’ve got.” We forget that swallowing our pride is better than leaving us choked and poisoned.

But how do we become humble when our hearts are deceitful and unclean? How do we embrace humility when we are tied to the bondage of pride?

The solution? Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross. He humbled Himself to the point of death, even death on the cross. “Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind let each of you regard one another as more important than himself; do not merely look out for your own personal interests, but also for the interests of others. Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus, who, although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Therefore also God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those who are in heaven, and on earth, and under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.-Philippians 2:3-11

When I think about Jesus’ sacrifice for me, it humbles me. It gives me the proper perspective of who I am and who He is. Instead of blocking God’s grace, I yield unto Him and say, “I am nothing apart from You. I could’ve undergone the persecutions You’ve gone through and died the death You have died but You still endured and fulfilled the Father’s purpose out of Your love for us.”

