Tags

, , , , ,


 “Some people come into our lives and quickly go. Some stay for awhile and leave footprints on our hearts. And we are never, ever the same.”

“True friendship is when two friends can walk in opposite directions, yet remain side by side.”

As I was browsing through Facebook one day, I got to re-read a note written and posted by a classmate. It was about our batch’s class prophecy. While reading, I can’t help but laugh at the seemingly possible (or hopefully impossible for some-haha! For those negative things pud) things that can happen to us.

Reading the note brought back good memories of college when I was still within the gates of dear old Silliman. Reminiscing brought joy and comfort…

I remember waking up early to go to class or to study/hang out with friends at the library. I remember walking under the shade of the tall trees, feeling the cool grass underneath (thanks to my dear tsinelas) and basking on the warm sunshine. I remember speaking Tagalog during my first year (being from the western side of the island), teaching my friends about my own dialect, and learning and conversing in a new dialect during my second year. I remember chatting with friends and eating pancit canton, tempura and drinking iced tea (yummy!) at Ate Grace’s carenderia beside the boarding house. I remember the fun overnights (whether for group studies or group bonding or both *wink*), mga laag2x, kaon2x, birthday celebrations, parties, field trip, outing, fiesta. I remember storming my brain out over books, researches, handouts, and other school materials which needed to be read and understood (memorized for some). I remember having my ever reliable calculator around (being an accountancy student). I remember all the dreaded examinations and anticipated vacations. I remember confessions, transformations, confrontations, and reconciliations. I remember the enrollments, the in-betweens, and the periodical culminations-the releasing of grades every semester. I remember enjoying learning, not only within the four walls of the classroom, but beyond the gates of Silliman. The portals served as gateway for learning and growth, not only academically, but holistically.

College was fun and memorable, not only because of the wonderful campus, but especially because of the wonderful people I have met and have become part of my life (and are still part of!). Without them, all those memories wouldn’t have been possible. God really brings people in our lives for a reason. And I’m glad and grateful that I was able to share a part of my life with them and theirs with me, as well. As I pondered over my life, I can’t help but be amazed on God. I would’ve studied here in Manila but He led me to Dumaguete. Indeed, God’s ways and thoughts are higher and better than ours. All things really work together for the good of those who love Him, to those who have been called according to His purpose.

For now, we have gradually parted ways. Some are in Makati (the unofficial campus extension), others are still in the province. I can’t imagine what might happen to us in the future. Countless questions still remain unanswered. But as we live our lives and wait for what’s at the end of the line, may we always trust God’s sovereign hand to be upon us all. . . 🙂

2nd year: Surprise Birthday Celebration for Shi2x! (Before Business Law Class)

3rd year: Junior-Senior IPR

3rd year: Fieldwork for Feasib (at Valencia, Negros Oriental)

3rd year: Cebu Field Trip

4th year: Seniors’ Night 🙂

4th year: Seniors’ Night still :))

Picture-taking before Baccalaureate! Yahoo! 🙂

IPR again-as fresh grads (before leaving the province for review) 🙂

Silliman University’s Amphitheater (taken during one of our BS sessions)

Our beloved college-CBA 🙂

Capturing the rainbow! (Taken from the ballfield across Doltz, Larena, and Woodward Hall)

