Tags

, , , , ,


“All that I am is Yours, all that I have is Yours,

I give you my heart and soul, Lord I’m Yours

Lord, everyday is Yours…Lord, every breath is Yours… I’m giving my life to You

Lord I’m Yours”

Surrender. What usually first enters your mind when you hear this word? Perhaps, weakness, defeat, failure…all the negative things you can think of.

People may say that if you submit, you are overpowered.  If you yield, you are beaten. When we look all around us, society advertises strength and independence.

The world says:

“In surrender, there is bondage. In surrender, there is powerlessness. In surrender, there is defeat.”

But is that what real surrender is all about?

It’s been a struggle for me to surrender-to submit to those in authorities like my parents, my bosses and ultimately to God. There’s something inside me that wants to be in full control. I don’t want anyone to impose on me what I should be or what I should do or how I should look or where I should go. I want to live my life my way.

But as I walked with God, He exposed my sinful state to light- a control freak-someone who wants to take over matters because of worry. I fear that things won’t turn out the way I want them to be if I was not in-charge. I’m afraid that my life vehicle won’t reach the good destination I have in mind if I was not in the driver’s seat.

In other words, the core problem is the condition of my heart. I’m inclined to following my own will-my own goals, purposes, desires.

The world may tell that surrendering is only for the weakling. But the Word of God proves otherwise.

I’ve read in the Purpose Driven Life that “surrendered people obey God’s word, even if it doesn’t make sense. You know you’re surrendered to God when you really on God to work things out instead of trying to manipulate others, force your agenda and control the situation. Trust is an essential ingredient to surrender”.

Indeed, that’s what you and I need-transformed hearts that are inclined to obeying God’s word, surrendered lives that follow God’s leading.

The world may say that:

“In surrender, there is bondage. In surrender, there is powerlessness. In surrender, there is defeat.”

But God says:

“In surrender, there is freedom. In surrender, there is power. In surrender, there is victory.” 🙂

