Tags

, , , , , ,


As the fiscal year comes to an end, each one here in the office is busy with his or her yearend review. One will determine what he’s learned based on what he did throughout the year, compare it with his annual plan, and evaluate whether he’s met the goals set in his plan.

Feedback from those you’ve worked with shall also be sought to know your strengths and weaknesses and how you can work on them.

As I was working in our area one night, I heard one manager and senior talking about the performance of their staff. They were discussing what were the core competencies of said staff and what his /her weaknesses were and on how he/she can address such.

As I was mulling over their conversation, I realize that assessment won’t stop in this world. One day, God will evaluate each of us. We all have to give our respective records which show what we’ve done with our lives.  (Romans 14:10,12)

I was reminded of the crucial questions that God might ask us when we meet Him (lifted from The Purpose Driven Life)

1. What did you do with my Son, Jesus Christ?  God won’t ask about you religious background or doctrinal views. The only thing that will matter is, did you accept what Jesus did for you and did you learn to love and trust Him? Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

2. What did you do with what I gave you? What did you do with your life-all the gifts, talents, opportunities, energy, relationships and resources God gave you? Did you spend them on yourself, or did you use them for the purposes God made you for?

As I was reflecting on what I’ve done during the past year, I know I still have a lot to learn about my chosen field. I still have to undergo a lot of different engagements to obtain deeper knowledge of it. Similarly with our life, God will continually test us in order for us to become more and more like Him. Rick Warren tells that “character is both developed and revealed by tests, and all of life is a test”.

I wonder what God will tell me when we see each other one day.  Will He be happy to see me? Will He be pleased with what I’ve done with my life?

For now, let’s actively wait upon the Lord. Let’s trust Him for He who began a good work in us will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ. Let’s eagerly wait for the day when He’ll say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

